Introducing Indie Author Dave Cleinman

In my continuing series where I feature indie authors, I’d like to introduce you to Dave Cleinman.  I haven’t read his works, but I was intrigued about his novel, Toys In The Attic, because the subject matter touched on things I dealt with back in the days when I was a counselor.  Dave has kindly stopped by to answer a few questions for us.  And he’s giving away something for free, so keep reading!

I see that Toys In The Attic is based on true events, what can you share about those events?

The events were the foundation for the story, some happened to girls and young women (and young men) that I have known, others are from published literature, news, and any sources that provided real-life examples of psychological abuse, trauma, and psychosis.  This was essential, because I wanted the story to ring true, while still maintaining the flexibility needed to turn storms to sunshine at some points.  Toys In The Attic is about hope, about fighting for one’s sanity in an insane world.  It’s about overcoming darkness to find happiness.  It is also about learning…learning to be human when the world has overwhelmed us.

What made you decide to tackle such a difficult story?

Difficult?  Hmmm.  I would say that it was not as difficult a story to write as it was to sort through the emotions.  Having known and counseled a few young women who suffered emotional and physical abuse, I really needed to write the story in some ways just to ease my own mind.  In that respect it was cathartic and not too challenging to write.  The hard parts were making the characters suffer.  A necessity, but not easy by any means.

I see you are an Internet marketer.  How do you apply skills from that arena to market your books?

In some ways it is similar…make contact, make sales.  But selling books is a lot more involved than selling a targeted product.  I’m still learning how to promote my books.  Social media is the wave of the future, for now, and I am focusing most of my efforts there.

What inspired you to start writing?

A love of literature and language.  A deep-seated desire to tell stories.  In some ways writing allows me to be all the things I’d like to be.  In a world where time and choices are limited, I can live any life I choose through my characters and their stories.

Do you have anything else you want to tell us?

My Article Marketing Guide is out, for anyone who uses that method of promotion, it is highly valuable.  I’m willing to give a free copy to any reader of this interview who requests one.  The basic website is here:  http://www.articlemarketersguide.com

You can find out more about Dave Cleinman and his novels, and his fellow authors on his blog:  http://www.davidcleinman.com/writings

About Renee Pawlish

Author of mystery novels, thriller novels, and horror books. Check out Nephilim Genesis of Evil, the Reed Ferguson mystery series, the Noah Winter adventure series for young adults, Take Five, a short story collection, and The Sallie House: Exposing the Beast Within. Renee also offers writing lessons and writing strategies in the Writers Workshop. Twitter: http://twitter.com/reneepawlish Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/reneepawlish.author Blog: http://tobecomeawriter.wordpress.com/ Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/reneepawlish
This entry was posted in Featured Indie Authors. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Introducing Indie Author Dave Cleinman

  1. Thanks Renee! I enjoyed our chat!

    Dave Cleinman

  2. zencherry says:

    Very interesting! I’ll have to check this book out! (And grab a tissue box, I think. ;) )

  3. Renee Pawlish says:

    Yes, it’s sounds like it could be a difficult read. Thanks for the comment.

  4. Denise Z says:

    Toys in the Attic sounds like a incredibly intense read and I am intrigued. Thank you so much for taking the time to share with us and I will certainly be looking up this book :)

    • Renee Pawlish says:

      I haven’t read, so you’ll have to let me know what you think. Thanks for stopping by and I have entered you into the contest. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

