Welcome Indie Author Jennifer Rainey!

I’m a little late with this week’s featured author, so my apologies.  That being said, welcome to Jennifer Rainey!  Jennifer has written a funny tale called These Hellish Happenings.  Check it out on Amazon!

On to some questions for Jennifer:

I see that you’ve taken the vampire novel and put a bit of a twist on it.  Where did you come up with the idea?

The first element of These Hellish Happenings to come to me was the protagonist, Jack Bentley, and I knew off the bat that he wasn’t your average vampire. He’s very lazy, very unsexy and a complete coward, to boot. While I love vampires, I find that a lot of authors take vampires down one of three roads: either they’re really sexy, they’re really vicious or they’re both. And with Jack, I wanted to do something different. I wanted to create a vampire who was a loveable loser, we’ll say.

Who is your favorite author and why?

Wow. I had to give this a lot of thought. It changes frequently. I’m going to say Arthur Conan Doyle. While he has had no influence on my own writing at all, I am a total Sherlockian, and I’m rereading the Holmes stories right now. Aldous Huxley, F. Scott Fitzgerald and Terry Pratchett are among about fifty other authors who come in at a close second.

When did you start writing and why?

I’ve always been writing in one way or another. In high school, I wrote a lot of fanfiction for various fandoms. Embarrassing, I know! But it wasn’t until I was about seventeen or so that I started writing original fiction. The reason has always been the same; I’m a storyteller. Some people completely write for themselves. I’m about 50/50. Part of me is writing just for me; the other part is writing just to entertain others.

What is up next for you?

I just finished the first draft of When Hell Freezes Over, the sequel to These Hellish Happenings. That’s going into rewrites and edits very soon. I’m also nearly finished with the first draft of a novella called Green-Eyed that’s about paranormal investigators. They’ll (hopefully!) both be out next year.

Thanks for sharing with us Jennifer.  Here’s a bit about her book, These Hellish Happenings.  It sounds like a fantastic, and funny, read!

In 1707, hapless vampire Jack Bentley made a pact with the Devil in order to escape a vampire hunt. Dealing with Satan seemed better than your standard angry mob at the time. But three centuries later, Satan is ready to collect His dues, whether the vampire likes it or not. He’s taking Jack to Hell, and He’s even got a job picked out for him down below: an eternal position at the Registration Office of the Damned.

Jack attempts to adjust to life on the Administrative Level of Hell, where fire and brimstone have been replaced by board meetings and the occasional broken copier. But the whiny complaints of the recently deceased and the legions of suited, cookie-cutter demons are the least of his problems. Try adding to the equation a dead ex-lover, a dangerous attraction to his high-ranking demon companion, Alexander Ridner, and the sticky and distorted anti-vampire politics of a Hell that is surprisingly like our own world.

Follow me on Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

Visit my website and sign up for my newsletter! Information about a HUGE contest coming soon!

About Renee Pawlish

Author of mystery novels, thriller novels, and horror books. Check out Nephilim Genesis of Evil, the Reed Ferguson mystery series, the Noah Winter adventure series for young adults, Take Five, a short story collection, and The Sallie House: Exposing the Beast Within. Renee also offers writing lessons and writing strategies in the Writers Workshop. Twitter: http://twitter.com/reneepawlish Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/reneepawlish.author Blog: https://tobecomeawriter.wordpress.com/ Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/reneepawlish
This entry was posted in Featured Indie Authors and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome Indie Author Jennifer Rainey!

  1. jaysquires says:

    At last … if the sampling is representative of what’s between the covers, here’s a vampire book about a character I can sink my teeth into. Being a fan of Nephilim Genesis of Evil, I’ve developed tremendous respect for Renee’s craftsmanship … and that respect lends itself now to Jennifer Rainey’s These Hellish Happenings. I’m looking forward to reading it.

  2. zencherry says:

    Sounds like a really neat book! Any Sir Arthur Conan Doyle fan has my vote. 😀 Great interview Renee. Fabulous, as always!

Leave a Reply

